Skip page navigation


Indianapolis is a culturally diverse city with an enriching array of arts, attractions, historical sites and unique events. IUPUI acknowledges our great city and its citizens in various ways, and at the same time our university has been acknowledged by the city and nationally for our diversity efforts and partnerships with the community. Below are just a few examples of these acknowledgements.

  • Congratulations to Kathy Grove! The National Women's Studies Association (NWSA) recognized Ms. Grove in November 2011 as recipient of the Women's Centers Committee's Outstanding Achievement Award for her efforts as Director of the IUPUI Office for Women.
  • Celebrating Our Heroes: Campus Apartment Namesakes
  • IUPUI University College building renamed after Joseph T. Taylor, first dean of the IU School of Liberal Arts. The building housing the Multicultural Center, Adaptive Educational Services, and the University College program, was renamed in 2008. Dr. Taylor (1913-2000) is remembered for his commitment to dialogue and diversity. » More Info
  • Joseph T. Taylor bust created by Herron School of Art and Design graduate unveiled on IUPUI's 40th anniversary. » More Info
  • 2005-2011 Dr. Joseph T. Taylor Award Recipients
    • 2011: Javier Sevilla
    • 2010: Jennifer Thorington Springer; Multicultural Teaching Community of Practice
    • 2009: Irene Queiro-Tajalli
    • 2008: Monroe Little, David Suzuki
    • 2007: Barbara Browning, Vance Farrow
    • 2006: Adaptive Education Services, Hal E. Broxmeyer, David Sabol
    • 2005: Angela Espada, Jeffery Anderson, Nancy Chism, Didier Gondola, Robert Paterson
  • IUPUI Men's Basketball Coach receives 2009 Accomplished Achievement Award by the Center for Leadership Development. » More Info
  • IUPUI Assistant Professor of Psychology wins national award for infusing diversity into teaching. » More info
  • IUPUI's Ken Durgans is named 2010 Champion of Diversity. » More info

Alpha Blackburn
Alpha Blackburn is recognized by DEI for her philanthropic efforts at the
2012 Spirit of Philanthropy dinner.