Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration Dinner


  • $25 IUPUI Students
  • $65 IUPUI Faculty | Staff | Alumni
  • $75 Community

Date & Time

Sunday, 20th January 2019.

Doors open 5:30 PM
Dinner starts 6:00 PM


The Indiana Roof Ballroom

140 W Washington St, 
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Since the death of his son Trayvon in 2012 due to a violent confrontation with neighborhood watch captain George Zimmerman, Tracy Martin has committed his life to transforming tragedy into change. Not only was Trayvon his son, but his best friend, and as a father, Martin took the life changing event with difficulty. Yet, with heartache came the strength move forward in a positive direction. In 2017, his book co-authored with Sybrina Fulton, Rest in Power: The Enduring Life of Trayvon Martin, will be released, sharing the intimate story of a tragically foreshortened life and the rise of a movement that awoke a nation’s conscience. Martin is now fighting for such an incident to never happen to another child again. As a result, carrying on the legacy of Trayvon has sparked national conversations about race relations in America. Martin’s goal is to spread his message for change out to men both young and old across the country. As a role model to fathers from all walks of life, he encourages them to let their sons, daughters, and other youths know that their lives are valuable and that they are loved no matter how they are depicted in society.

We are the DREAM
Keynote Speaker Tracy Martin

For More Information, Contact:

Dr. Khalilah A. Shabazz
Director of the Multicultural Center

Richard Brown
Black Student Services Coordinator